Polish (Poland)English (United Kingdom)



Gothic Way


Press about the Goths



Tutaj jesteś: Główna History of the Association

History of the association PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Sunday, 04 July 2010 06:45



The history of the association

Introduction – essential facts

Archaeological research into the culture of the Goths in the Hrubieszów Basin started in 1977. Since the very beginning, the importance of the discoveries, attractive artefacts and exceptional funeral customs of those who inhabited the region 1700 years ago have been the focus of public interest. The news of the excavations in Masłomęcz quickly made the front pages of the newspapers and got a lot of publicity on the radio and TV. The academic community and public opinion kept up with news of the research carried out by the Lublin archaeologists. Every year, international delegations of foremost researchers, students and lay enthusiasts visited Masłomęcz to witness these unique discoveries. 25 years of intensive fieldwork changed the lives of the inhabitants of this small village, who became famous for their friendliness and hospitality towards archaeologists.

In 2002 the end of the excavations of Gothic burial grounds was officially announced. It seemed that Masłomęcz would become an ordinary village mentioned only in archaeological literature and archival issues of newspapers.

However, the inhabitants of Masłomęcz, used to the presence of archaeologists, students and the media, were determined to maintain their cooperation with academic circles.

Today, Masłomęcz is an unusual place where the past and the present meet. This would not have happened if it had not been for several key grassroots initiatives aimed at the reconstruction of the daily life of the multicultural community inhabiting the area in the 3rd and 4th centuries AD. Just as it was 1700 years ago, the centre of these ventures is in the vicinity of Masłomęcz, where the Goths’ village is being reconstructed. One should remember, however, that in the region there are more places associated with the civilisation in question, and they also deserve to be recognised. Of great significance in creating the archaeological image of the Hrubieszów district is the long-standing tradition of archaeological competitions organised for pupils of local schools. A considerable contribution to this field has been made by the Department of Archaeology of the Rev. Stanisław Staszic Museum in Hrubieszów.

Association logo

Archaeologists came across unique ornaments in several graves in Masłomęcz. These ornaments are bronze fibulae with arches depicting a sailing duck. Clasps of this type date from the beginning of the 3rd century AD. Before World War II several similar clasps were found near Lutsk, in the Volyn Oblast in north-west Ukraine. Fibulae almost identical to those from Masłomęcz have been found on the Great Hungarian Plain, once inhabited by Sarmatian Iazyges.

The fibula in the shape of a duck was adopted as the logo of Masłomęcz and the Masłomęcz group. The image of a duck was also the basis of the statuette of the “Laurels of Masłomęcz” Merit Award and is part of the logo of the Institute of Archaeology of the Maria Curie-Skłodowska University in Lublin.


Last Updated on Thursday, 30 September 2010 16:12

Copyright © 2024 Masłomęckie Stowarzyszenie - Wioska Gotów. All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.

subskrybuj RSS